Print

Author Topic: Pokemon Cards - Worth Anything?  (Read 3669 times)

« on: June 13, 2014, 09:43:25 PM »
OK, Pokemon experts. This is the million dollar question for the night, and one I am hoping to get some help on.

I am a tutor and work with many children who enjoy video games. One of them is very into Pokemon and decided to give me a bunch of her cards one day for no reason except for the fact she appreciated me. (I get lots of various "gifts" like this, and I've actually gotten quite a few rocks, old pencils, Lego men, and other crazy objects--you know how younger kids place value on this stuff!)

This student told me these cards were worth something. They look pretty new, but I can't be sure, because I have a confession to make...

I know nothing about Pokemon!!!

OK, this may sound crazy since this is a Nintendo-related board, but I never got into Pokemon and never really had a desire to. Back when it was becoming popular in 1999, I completely ignored it, thinking it was one of the silliest fads ever. It didn't matter to me that it was a product of Nintendo. I entered seventh grade in the fall of 1999 and had no desire to deal with these cards. I was your typical trendy seventh grader--you know, the one who dressed in Abercrombie and American Eagle, cheered for the Yankees, watched all the popular TV shows, chatted on AIM about all those crazy seventh grade happenings, and had a celebrity crush on Britney Spears. (I'll confess to owning some of her CDs, too--yes, CDs--it was that long ago). Oh, and if I needed to crash, I always had the N64 waiting for me.