Print

Author Topic: MarioKart 8 Learning Curve  (Read 14499 times)

« on: May 05, 2016, 08:07:13 PM »
I am a veteran of the MarioKart platform, having played every game in the series with the exception of MK7 for the 3DS (for the simple reason that I don't have a 3DS).

For the most part, I have had a lot of success with these games--against the CPU, against other human players, and against the online players when the Wii virtual console was still up.

MarioKart 8 seems to be a different story.

I was a little late to the Wii U party, mostly because I wasn't sure if I would play with a new console a lot. After a breakup a while ago, I figured video games would be a good thing to clear my head, so I treated myself to one at Christmas. It came with MarioKart 8 already included, a definite perk for a longtime fan of the series.

Trouble is, aside from playing at low levels like 50cc against the CPU, I seem to be having zero success with this game. I consistently come in last or close to it against virtual console players. I can't beat any of my friends. Yes, I do know how to do the slides and mini turbos. I know I don't play it every day, but I've never been this awful at a MarioKart game.

Is there some trick to mastering this game? Does it just have a steeper learning curve?

BP

• Beside Pacific
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2016, 12:42:27 AM »
This is probably a no-brainer, but have you tried out all sorts of combinations of karts and bikes with characters of different weights? I cannot win if I'm on a bike, but I know many people who swear by them. Try out different tires as well. Glider doesn't really matter too much in my experience.

Hug the curves, always do a trick off a ramp, get 10 coins as early as you can and keep 'em. Don't worry if you never get good at 200cc.
All your dreeeeeeams begiiin to shatterrrrrr~
It's YOUR problem!

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2016, 10:40:27 PM »