Print

Author Topic: The GRAD thread: Discuss your post-secondary education plans here!  (Read 32828 times)

« on: June 01, 2010, 09:45:32 PM »
Every twelfth-grader knows the situation: An older family friend or relative approaches you in hopes of making small talk, beginning with that most tiresome question, "Do you know what you'll be doing after high school?" Due to exasperation over having answered this very question countless times, or perhaps due to genuine uncertainty, you nonchalantly give a vague response before directing the conversation elsewhere.

So, Class of 2010 and beyond, I'll now become your honourary aunt by asking you this: What are your plans? Off to college? To university? Straight to the workforce? Embarking on a soul-searching journey, perhaps?  Discuss.
YYur  waYur n beYur you Yur plusYur instYur an Yur Yur whaYur

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 09:47:53 PM »
I graduated from high school 2 years ago. Can I still contribute?
Luigison: Question everything!
Me: Why?

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 09:54:03 PM »
NO GTFO MY THREAD

Err, absolutely!
« Last Edit: June 01, 2010, 09:55:39 PM by Weegee »

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2010, 10:03:09 PM »
I straight-out told them I'm going to college. it worked with a little discussing afterward. It's unavoidable.
ROM hacking with a slice of life.

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2010, 10:09:58 PM »
I knew exactly where I wanted to go when I got out of high school. I applied to TCU and was accepted (only 1,000 out of 12,000 applicants were accepted). My parents were happy to pay for my tuition.

I wanted to study religion and become a pastor. As you know, I am now irreligious. I'm majoring in sociology (I was, for a little while, majoring in philosophy).

The majority of graduates from my high school either go to work or attend community college. I am very glad I was given the opportunity to leave The Colony, as its residents consist of potheads, gang members, rednecks, and the like.