Print

Author Topic: Need help (making game)  (Read 8230 times)

Kuromatsu

• 黒松
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2008, 06:25:05 PM »
this is my first time making a game.
I think our suggestions are a tad much for him. Perhaps we should just tell him how to make Mario run left, right and jump without getting stuck in walls.

Turtlekid1

• Tortuga
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2008, 06:27:46 PM »
Heh.  Good Point.  I really do recommend the platforming tutorial at YoYoGames.  It won't tell you how to do everything needed for Mario, but it gets the basic physics down nicely.
"It'll say life is sacred and so is death
but death is life and so we move on"

« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2008, 08:48:23 PM »
My advice is to NOT use the platforming example. Do it from scratch, it's a lot less cluttered.
Maybe we should collaborate towards a Mario Fan game.  I've been using it since version 5.
Good idea.

What a coincedence, I'm in a class that dived headfirst into GameMaker 7. So I have experience with that. But my first attempt at a platformer failed miserably, with the character floating on air half the time.

So hey, if you need help on the basics of GameMaker, I can help you out as well. Still, going through tutorials and re-creating basic programming concepts (preventing an object from moving off the screen, using a loop for drawing an object over and over, approximate collision detection using the distance between the centers of two objects and checking against the sums of the radii of two imaginary circles around the objects) is a good start to learning GameMaker. Oh, and pick up "The GameMaker's Apprentice" from some bookstore, that's a huge help.

Wow, the aproximate collision detecting sounds really good.
Twists, eh? Okay.

- A level or two that significantly changes the play style before going back to the normal style
- Mario's melee attacks from SM64 (why don't those appear in 2D games more often?)
- Other improved moves from the 3D games (butt stomp, etc.)