Poll

Do you think that the Mario Party games are still fun?

Yes
13 (52%)
No
3 (12%)
Depends on version
9 (36%)

Total Members Voted: 24

Print

Author Topic: Mario Parties going on and on  (Read 3725 times)

« on: November 16, 2005, 03:36:30 PM »
I've been playing MPs for more and a few years and I want to see if you guys still like MP. So what do you think about them coming out all the time? For me, I still think that they're all fun.

« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2005, 03:47:18 PM »
Well, maybe not to own and play by yourself
but renting the latest version to play with your three friends once in a while is always fun
Hey, wazzap? It's the Phred-guy! Isn't that nifty?

Insane Steve

• Professional Cynic
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2005, 03:50:17 PM »
See, here the thing about the Mario Party games, to me.

If Mario Party 35* was the first game of its kind (That is, the original Mario Party game), it'd be revolutionary, fun, etc. However, since it is the 35th of a series of 35 games that are essentially the same, with only minor changes and different mini-games, it's going to be seen as a lot less fun. I mean, it's like the concept that the more one plays a game, the less enjoyable it becomes on subsequent plays -- the Law of Diminishing Marginal Returns (curse you, ECON 251). Since Mario Party 35 isn't different enough from Mario Party 34, 33, 32, etc., it'll be less fun at the onset because people think they've already played it.

In other words, the later Mario Party games aren't bad games, at all, people are just not as amused by them because they've seen it before. As for the poll, I'm unsure if I've seen enough. No answer. Yet.

*Mario Party 35 is an inside joke that's really only explainable to myself. Crazy dream. Hard to explain.
~I.S.~

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2005, 03:52:34 PM »