Print

Author Topic: Need help (making game)  (Read 8247 times)

megamush

• Infinite member error
« on: May 14, 2008, 02:54:43 PM »
I'm trying to make a game using using game maker, this is my first time making a game. Are there any tips you could give me?
What ever you do don't press Ctrl-W

Turtlekid1

• Tortuga
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 03:00:18 PM »
What kind of game?
What kind of physics?

As for a non-specific tip, go to http://www.yoyogames.com and download all their Game Maker tutorials, or at least the first two.  There are also tutorials for many different genres.
"It'll say life is sacred and so is death
but death is life and so we move on"

Kuromatsu

• 黒松
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 03:54:03 PM »
Also when you do use the tutorials, do NOT make a game by changing the sprites from the tutorial and making levels from that.

Glorb

• Banned
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2008, 05:30:42 PM »
Hints:

1) Make sure the player spends more time playing minigames than the real game.
2) Add a secks scene.
every

ShadowBrain

• Ridiculously relevant
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2008, 05:37:24 PM »
^ POTY?
"Mario is your oyster." ~The Chef

Suffix

• Steamed
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2008, 05:52:07 PM »
^ POTTY.

(Please omit this trivial yakkity-yak)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 05:56:55 PM by Suffix »

Turtlekid1

• Tortuga
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2008, 12:29:04 PM »
Also when you do use the tutorials, do NOT make a game by changing the sprites from the tutorial and making levels from that.

YES.  Follow those instructions.  I've seen far too many Game Maker games that have changed only the character sprites and designed new levels using the pre-made tiles.

Out of curiosity, are you going to make a Mario fan-game?

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2008, 03:47:37 PM »
I'm trying to make a game using using game maker, this is my first time making a game. Are there any tips you could give me?

Send me a message with the specifics, I've been using it for years. (No kidding)

Turtlekid1